bpl team

Picking the Top BPL Team: Who Holds the Title?

The most recent edition of the BPL in 2023 was claimed by Comilla Victorians. The Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) stands as the top T20 cricket competition in the nation, overseen by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB), the governing body for cricket in the country.

Originating in 2011, the inaugural BPL season took place in 2012, spanning Dhaka and Chittagong. Since then, the Bangladesh Premier League has successfully completed eight seasons. The BPL’s debut champions were Dhaka Gladiators, triumphing over Barisal Burners in the 2012 final. Dhaka Gladiators also secured victory in the 2013 edition of the tournament.

On the other hand, Comilla Victorians, who clinched their first title in 2015, have emerged as the most accomplished squad in BPL history, securing four championships. Comilla Victorians recently secured the 2023 title by prevailing over Sylhet Strikers in the final match.

Other teams such as Dhaka Dynamites, Rangpur Riders, and Rajshahi Royals have each seized the BPL title once. A comprehensive list of BPL winners is as follows: Dhaka Gladiators (2012, 2013), Comilla Victorians (2015, 2023), Dhaka Dynamites, Rangpur Riders, and Rajshahi Royals (each with one victory).

Comilla Victorians – 4 BPL titles

Comilla Victorians have secured victory in the BPL on four notable occasions: in 2015, 2019, 2022, and 2023. The franchise hailing from Comilla made their debut in the Bangladesh Premier League during the 2015 season.

During the 2015 showdown, the Victorians engaged in a remarkable last-ball finish against Barisal Bulls, emerging victorious in the final clash. A standout performance by Ashar Zaidi, the Pakistani all-rounder, earned him the title of Player of the Tournament. He showcased exceptional skills across all facets of the game, contributing 215 runs and claiming 17 wickets for the Victorians throughout their triumphant journey.

Moving on to the 2019 final, Tamim Iqbal left a lasting impact with an astonishing and undefeated 141 runs off 61 balls. This impressive feat stands as the second-highest individual score in BPL history. Fueled by this remarkable innings, the Victorians secured a 17-run victory over Dhaka Dynamites in the championship match.

The franchise’s third BPL victory arrived in 2022. Sunil Narine took the spotlight as the match-winner, showcasing his prowess with both bat and ball during the final match. He contributed 57 runs and secured two crucial wickets. In the same season, Victorians’ fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman emerged as the top wicket-taker, claiming an impressive 19 wickets.

The most recent title for the Comilla Victorians was clinched in the BPL 2023 season, where they emerged triumphant in the grand finale against Sylhet Strikers. This victory marked their consecutive championship win.

Dhaka Gladiators – 2 BPL titles

The Dhaka Gladiators stood as the initial of the two Dhaka-based franchises to secure victory in the Bangladesh Premier League. Furthermore, they achieved the distinction of becoming the pioneer team to capture consecutive BPL championships through their triumphs in the initial two seasons.

In the inaugural edition of the tournament held in 2012, Shakib Al Hasan’s exceptional performance served as the driving force behind the Gladiators’ title victory. Shakib’s notable contribution of 280 runs and 15 wickets across 11 matches led to him being crowned as the Player of the Tournament. Despite finishing third in the league stage, the Gladiators outshone Barisal Burners in the final, clinching an eight-wicket victory with 26 balls to spare.

Conversely, the BPL of 2013 witnessed the Gladiators claiming the top position on the points table. Guided by the leadership of Mashrafe Mortaza, the team secured their second championship triumph through an impressive 43-run win over Chittagong Kings in the final. Shakib Al Hasan once again emerged as the standout performer, earning the Player of the Tournament accolade for his remarkable display of 329 runs and 15 wickets.