psl players

PSL Teams: A Recap of the 2024 HBL Pakistan Super League

The 2024 Pakistan Super League (HBL PSL 9) thrilled cricket fans worldwide from February 17 to March 18 with electrifying matches and remarkable performances. Let’s delve into the event and revisit the teams that participated in this exciting tournament.

PSL Teams: A Recap of the 2024 HBL Pakistan Super League

PSL 2024 Season Overview

The ninth season of the Pakistan Super League featured six teams competing in a double round-robin and page playoff system. Matches were held across four cities in Pakistan, showcasing the nation’s passion for cricket. Lahore Qalandars, the two-time defending champions, faced an unexpected early exit, finishing last in the group stage. In the final showdown, Islamabad United emerged victorious, defeating Multan Sultans by two wickets and claiming their third title.

PSL 2024 Squads and Draft

The squads for the 2024 season were finalized through a draft held in Lahore on December 13, 2023, following franchise announcements of retained players. A supplementary and replacement draft took place on January 29, 2024, adding depth and versatility to the teams. Let’s take a closer look at the lineups of each franchise:

Islamabad United: Led by captain Shadab Khan, Islamabad United boasted a formidable roster including international stars like Alex Hales, Tom Curran, and Faheem Ashraf. Their squad also featured promising talents like Hunain Shah and Salman Ali Agha.

Karachi Kings: Under the leadership of captain Rilee Rossouw, Karachi Kings fielded a balanced team with seasoned players like Mohammad Amir, Jason Roy, and Sherfane Rutherford. They also had promising youngsters in Aimal Khan and Paul Walter.

Lahore Qalandars: Despite their early exit, Lahore Qalandars showcased talent with the likes of Fakhar Zaman, Rashid Khan, and David Wiese. Their squad also included emerging players such as Mehran Mumtaz and Luke Wood.

Multan Sultans: Led by captain Shan Masood, Multan Sultans put up a strong fight with contributions from James Vince, Mohammad Nawaz, and Mohammad Amir. They also relied on the skills of youngsters like Arshad Iqbal and Shamar Joseph.

Peshawar Zalmi: With Shaheen Afridi at the helm, Peshawar Zalmi boasted a squad comprising Shahnawaz Dahani, Kamran Ghulam, and Usama Mir. They also had promising talents in Tayyab Tahir and Abbas Afridi.

Quetta Gladiators: Babar Azam captained Quetta Gladiators, aiming for success with a mix of experienced players like Sarfaraz Ahmed, Mohammad Hasnain, and Chris Jordan. Their squad also included promising youngsters like Ahsan Hafeez and Ali Majid.

PSL 2024 Player Highlights

Babar Azam led the batting charts with outstanding performances, securing the award for the most runs. Usama Mir showcased his bowling prowess, clinching the title for the most wickets. Shadab Khan’s all-round brilliance earned him the prestigious Player of the Tournament award, reflecting his impactful contributions to Islamabad United’s triumph.

Follow the Baji88 Website for More PSL News

For cricket enthusiasts eager to relive the excitement of the 2024 Pakistan Super League and stay updated on cricket betting, live scores, player statistics, and more, Baji88 is your ultimate destination. With a wide range of features including free live streaming, post-match analytics, and expert insights, Baji88 provides an immersive experience for cricket fans worldwide.