cricket\ banner
LPL Points

The Top 5 Run Scorers Who Stole the Show in LPL 2023

The Lanka Premier League (LPL) has always been a platform for cricketing talent to shine, and the 2023 season was no different. With thrilling matches and outstanding performances, the tournament provided fans with unforgettable moments. Among these moments were some exceptional batting displays, and today, we’ll take a closer look at the top 5 run scorers who stole the show in LPL 2023.

1. Wanindu Hasaranga (B-Love Kandy)

Wanindu Hasaranga, known for his all-round abilities, proved his worth with the bat in LPL 2023. The right-handed batsman scored a total of 279 runs in 9 innings at an impressive average of 34.87. What makes his performance even more remarkable is his strike rate of 189.79, indicating his ability to accelerate the scoring when needed. Hasaranga’s consistency with 2 fifties was crucial in B-Love Kandy’s campaign.

2. Babar Azam (Colombo Strikers Team)

Pakistani batting sensation Babar Azam continued to dazzle fans with his exquisite Strokeplay. Representing CLS, Babar amassed 261 runs in 8 innings. His highest innings score of 104 showcased his ability to anchor the innings and play big innings when required. With a batting average of 32.62 and a strike rate of 132.48, Babar Azam was a vital cog in the CLS batting lineup, scoring a century and a fifty in the process.

3. Dinesh Chandimal (B-Love Kandy)

Another key contributor to B-Love Kandy’s success was Dinesh Chandimal. Although his batting numbers might not be as eye-catching as some others on this list, his value to the team was immense. Chandimal scored 259 runs in 10 innings at an average of 25.90. His ability to hold the innings together was evident, especially with a highest score of 50. In the T20 format, partnerships and stability are crucial, and Chandimal provided just that.

4. Avishka Fernando (Dambulla Aura)

Avishka Fernando, representing Dambulla Aura, showcased his flair with the bat in LPL 2023. Scoring a total of 244 runs in 10 innings, Fernando displayed his versatility in adapting to different match situations. With a highest score of 70*, he had the ability to accelerate the innings. His batting average of 27.11 and strike rate of 125.12 made him a dependable run-scorer for Dambulla Aura, contributing with two fifties.

5. Sadeera Samarawickrama (Dambulla Aura)

Sadeera Samarawickrama, another key player for Dambulla Aura, completes our list of top run-scorers in LPL 2023. With 234 runs in 10 innings, he played a crucial role in Dambulla’s campaign. His highest score of 59* demonstrated his ability to stay at the crease and build an innings. A batting average of 26.00 and a strike rate of 123.80 highlighted his consistency, and his fifty provided the stability needed in the middle order.

The 2023 edition of the Lanka Premier League witnessed some incredible batting performances. These top 5 run-scorers, namely Wanindu Hasaranga, Babar Azam, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, and Sadeera Samarawickrama, not only entertained cricket enthusiasts but also played pivotal roles in their respective teams’ journeys in the tournament.