LPL new LPL Schedule LPL Team

Lanka Premier League (LPL)2024: A Month of Cricket Extravaganza

The anticipation is building as cricket enthusiasts gear up for the fifth edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) set to enthrall fans from July 1st to July 31st, 2024. With an extended schedule and a thrilling lineup of matches, the LPL promises to deliver excitement and drama throughout the entire month.

Lanka Premier League (LPL)2024: A Month of Cricket Extravaganza

LPL 2024 A Month-Long Spectacle

The LPL 2024 will feature a total of 24 matches, captivating audiences with its action-packed format. From July 1st to July 21st, teams will battle it out in the league stage, playing each other twice in a round-robin format. Following this, the playoffs will commence, including qualifiers, an eliminator, and the highly anticipated final, reminiscent of the excitement of the IPL.

Blending Local Talent with International Flair

With each team allowed a roster of 20 to 24 players, including a maximum of 6 overseas players, the LPL ensures a captivating blend of local talent and international expertise. This dynamic mix adds to the competitive edge of the tournament, elevating the quality of cricket on display.

Growing Popularity and Global Appeal

Since its inception in 2020, the LPL has steadily grown in stature and popularity, establishing itself as Sri Lanka’s premier T20 domestic competition. The league’s vibrant mix of high-quality cricket and entertainment has captured the imagination of cricket fans worldwide, making it a highly anticipated event on the cricketing calendar.

Strategic Acquisitions and Franchise Dynamics

The LPL 2024 auction promises to be a hotbed of strategic acquisitions, with franchises vying to assemble winning squads capable of lifting the coveted trophy. With the base price for capped players ranging from $10,000 to $50,000, teams will engage in intense bidding wars to secure top talent and bolster their rosters.

Reigning Champions and Past Glory

The past editions of the LPL have witnessed thrilling encounters and memorable moments, with teams like B-Love Kandy and Jaffna etching their names in history. As defending champions, B-Love Kandy, led by Wanindu Hasaranga, will aim to defend their title against fierce competition from across the league.


As the stage is set for another exhilarating season of cricket, fans eagerly await the commencement of LPL 2024. With its extended schedule, star-studded lineups, and thrilling matchups, the tournament promises to deliver a month-long spectacle of cricketing excellence, further solidifying its status as one of the premier T20 leagues in the world.